The Fool’s Truth

 IAN Book of the Year Awards 2017

Finalist in Two Categories: Mystery and Suspense

Gold Book Award 2017 Literary Titan

Honorable Mention ~ Fiction Category New England Book Festival

 

TheFoolsTruth_800CoverrevealandPromotional

Buy now!

Click here for paperback from Amazon!

Click here for Local Store Offerings!

Click here for Kindle edition from Amazon!

 

 Loretta Marion’s debut novel is a twisty tale of mystery and suspense…with whispers of romance.

 

FIVE STARS from Literary Titans Reviews!

“Murder and mystery with shimmers of romance are all the delectable things that Loretta H. Marion has to offer with her tantalizing tale The Fool’s Truth…At times breath-taking and other times heart-pounding a true mystery lover will not want to let The Fool’s Truth pass them by.”  

To read the entire review check out the December 2nd post: https://literarytitan.com/

 To read author interview go to the December 16th post entitled A Buried Desire: https://literarytitan.com/2016/12/page/3/

 

“The Fool’s Truth” is an interesting page-turner—a mystery with just the right splash of romance that keeps the action and thrills going until the very end. Taking the reader on a detour to the backwoods of Maine, a million shadowy secrets come to light.

Cordelia Richmond is a woman on the run. Deciding to escape from her abusive husband, she has taken her toddler daughter away with her in order to keep them both alive with the help of her old friend, Ramon Alvarez.

Cord’s escape, however, is brought to a sudden stop when she breaks down in Murphy, Maine. There, she has car trouble and has to spend time in limbo while waiting for help to arrive. This detour quickly turns into a nightmare when she and her daughter find themselves stranded on an isolated farm, along with a peculiar woman who starts to take an odd interest in her daughter. Even more complications crop up when the local sheriff in town, as well as a nosy reporter, get in to Cord’s business. Both of these people have their own agendas for hanging out in Murphy and neither of those is good. Soon, Cordelia begins to regret the lies she told to the one person who might just be looking for her…if only he could find out which direction she went.

This is definitely one of those fast-paced, intricate reads that no reviewer wants to give away too much information about for fear of ruining the plot. Let us just say that the number of mysterious paths these characters walk will keep any suspense lover intrigued. Never a dull moment, it almost feels as if the reader is right by Cord’s side as she escapes from one devil just to find herself lost among many.

 

“Deftly paced and richly imagined, The Fool’s Truth combines elements of traditional mystery and romantic suspense. With its evocative setting deep in the Maine woods and its intriguing cast of well-developed characters, Loretta Marion’s tale of old love, present danger, and small town secrets will capture the reader. Fans of Barbara Michaels and Kate Morton—take note!”

Rosie Genova, National Bestselling Author of The Italian Kitchen Mysteries (NAL/Penguin)

 

“I could not put down The Fool’s Truth – it was lively and engaging, with truly memorable characters and plenty of plot twists. I hope to read more from Loretta Marion!”

 Nina Sankovitch, Author of Tolstoy and the Purple Chair: My Year of Magical Reading

 

“The Fool’s Truth by Loretta Marion of Bristol is a mystery/thriller with a touch of romance. When Cordelia flees her abusive husband, taking her toddler daughter with her, she is aided by old friend (maybe more?) Ramon Alvarez. But her trip north is interrupted in Murphy, Maine, where she has car trouble. This is one of those books where you don’t want to give too much away. All of the characters have a touch of mystery or hidden pasts, except the sleazy English tabloid journalist, now the editor of the Murphy newspaper, who is just what he seems.

Each chapter is introduced with an apropos quote from the teachings of Buddha, Sherlock Holmes stories, Shakespeare or authors commenting on journalism. The plot clips right along and you’re not quite sure what will happen next. It’s a very enjoyable read.”

Lynda Rego, East Bay Life, East Bay Newspapers, November 2016

 

 

TheFoolsTruth_800CoverrevealandPromotionalTHE FOOL’S TRUTH is a twisty page-turner, expertly blending mystery, danger and suspense with the alluring possibility of romance from a once unrequited love.

On the run and desperate to flee the country with her toddler daughter, Cord Richmond can only turn to one person for help – lifelong friend and once lover, Ramon Alvarez. Their reunion reawakens long suppressed feelings, but once again their timing is off as they must hastily chart a course for her escape.

A reckless detour in those carefully laid plans leaves Cord stranded in the backwoods of Maine, hidden by a hermit weaver living off the grid. With no means of communicating with the outside world, the need to craft a new plan intensifies when the peculiar woman takes an obsessive interest in her daughter.

Complicating matters further are the local sheriff and a nosy reporter, both with ambitions for uncovering the truth, each with his own private reason for taking refuge in the remote rural village of Murphy, Maine. She contemplates a risky strategy to flee her confinement, but is she desperate enough to enter the depraved world of a recently paroled convict with a history of brutality?

Cord’s folly is the catalyst for dark secrets unraveling, placing her and her daughter in grave danger. She deeply regrets having lied to the one person who might be searching for her. Meanwhile, Ramon seeks to resolve the unsettling truths Cord has concealed from him. If only he could find her.

logo-large-bwTime At Last Books

Cover Design by Streetlight Graphics